Makeup Tip Monday – Combat Dry Skin!

A couple of weeks ago I got a text from Coach and it said, “Good morning, I exfoliated.” I was so proud. This text followed a discussion where I shared with him the benefits of exfoliating and moisturizing his face, especially in the winter months.

He teaches me about nutrition and my retirement plan. I teach him about skincare and ponies and kittens. I’m just so glad we are able to enrich each others lives in such ways.

Anyway. I’m sure ya’ll would agree that it’s tough for us gals to put makeup on with dry skin and exfoliating helps keep flaking at bay and scrubs away those dead skin cells. It also helps our face look more radiant as the dead skin tends to dull our complexion.

All you need is a good facial scrub to get the job done.

I use Target’s Apricot Scrub and it works great. I’ve used it for years.

Oh and don’t forget to follow up with a good moisturizer.

Also, if your feet, knees and elbows are looking dry, try this simple recipe for a body scrub that my darling friend Angie taught me. I love her, we share an affinity for beauty products.

Here’s what you do:

Take 1/2 cup of coconut oil and 3/4 cup brown sugar.

Scoop the coconut oil into a microwave safe dish, microwave until it’s melted into liquid form.

Stir in the brown sugar and voila you’ve made you’re very own body scrub.

The coconut oil helps to moisturize while the brown sugar scrubs away the dry skin.

Another great remedy is to moisturize as soon as you turn off the shower. The steam will help your skin absorb the moisture better. My Aunt Kim taught me that trick, she has beautiful skin so I listen to her.

What are some of your tricks to keep your skin healthy and moisturized?

2 thoughts on “Makeup Tip Monday – Combat Dry Skin!

Leave a Reply

