Process

I just got this sweet note in the mail…

The Les Paul cake pictured in my previous post was for my darling cousin Randy’s graduation party.  He loved it.  He loved it so much that he wouldn’t allow us to cut it until EVERYONE had seen it.  We had so much cake left over we didn’t know what to do with it!

When I started to think about what kind of cake I was going to make for this dude, I’ll be honest I googled “graduation cakes”.  I needed inspiration!  What does a graduation cake look like?  I mean, my graduation cake had a picture of me printed on it (remind me to show ya’ll that some other time…hilarious).  I just didn’t know where to begin.  After that shameless google search, I attempted to sketch my idea in my handy action book I got from Behance

For some reason, I didn’t get the talent of sketch that my father has.  Apparently, I was going to make square cakes with a fondant diploma tied with an awful ribbon on top.  Yikes!  Then, it occurred to me.  Randy isn’t just any graduate.  I wanted this cake to really reflect who he was.  He’s a musician.  He is the John Mayer of graduates.  He started playing guitar straight out of the womb.  So, duh.  Guitar cake.  That horrible sketch was just part of the process.

Randy will be moving to Nashville in the fall!  He’s going to Belmont and I can’t wait to have him here with me!  He’s cooler than I am.

Leave a Reply

