Flour

Confession:  I have made a few cakes this year and I have yet to use any flour (gasp!).  I mean I have nothing against the stuff, but I have used box mixes for every cake that i have baked, simply because it saves so much time.  I also have yet to find a recipe for a cake made from scratch that tastes better than the box.  Don’t worry, I’m working on it.

I have made three cakes so far on my own.  The first one that I made was so much fun!  I made it for my cousin Brittany’s baby shower and it was pink, it was round and the fondant was placed so perfectly.  The polka dots were so sweet and I made a precious little bow and put it on top.  That was a great party.

Look at how happy I was…thinking that I had finally found something I was actually good at and really enjoyed.  Little did I know…round cakes are boring.  A month later, I was in my mama’s kitchen cutting round cakes into the shape of a Les Paul with my pappy.  That was the easy part.  We had that cake cut out and frosted with mama’s homemade buttercream in no time.  It was wonderful.  Then it was time to fondant the thing.  Funny thing was, I hadn’t really thought much about how difficult that would be.  I had forgotten about that stupid, weird wing thingy that I would have to smooth the fondant over so perfectly.  Well, I rolled the fondant over the cake.  It tore.  I cried.  Teardrops on my guitar (I love T-Swift).  When the fondant tears, the world is over.  There’s nothing you can do.  Might as well just give up.  Give the cake to the dog.  Take up a new hobby.  (At least that’s what I was crying in the kitchen at 1 a.m.).  But thank goodness for my daddy because he came to the rescue.  He kept reminding me that this was all part of the creative process, that each cake I bake would teach me a new lesson.  Blah, blah, blah.  During his little pep talk, he helped me make a fret board.  Before I knew it, the cake was finished.  And it was great.  It wasn’t perfect, but it turned out better than I imagined.

Moral of the story?  I will only make round cakes.  Kidding.  But seriously, no more guitars.

7 thoughts on “Flour

  1. WOW! What a great thing you’ve got going. You are beautiful and so are your cakes. I love the name “the key ingredient.” I’m so proud of you, going after what you want and doing a great job at it.
    Love, Mama

  2. Fabulous! that’s what you are! So excited to read about the next great cake! (notice all of the exclamation points;)!

  3. Well, not only can you bake, not to say what a good cook you are… and you’re beautiful too:) Some girls have it all!

    • Great blog. Love the name. And mostly love the cakes (especially since I benefited twice from your talent)! Don’t quit on your uniqueness. The guitar cake rocks. It would be a shame not to top that cake. Love, K

      p.s. Who needs “flour” when you already have the “key ingredient?

Leave a Reply

